2018 Primaries: 8/14/2018 Results

Four states, Connecticut, Minnesota, Vermont and Wisconsin, held primaries on Tuesday. Besides those primaries, we got a concession from one of the undecided elections from last week. Kansas Governor Jeff Colyer conceded the election to Trump backed State Attorney General Kris Kobach.

Colyer conceded Tuesday night, hours after a tally of provisional ballots in Johnson County, the state’s largest, failed to close the gap between him and Kobach. Instead, the additional votes swung in his opponent’s favor — Colyer picked up an extra 301 votes, while Kobach added 325 — even though the governor had won his home county overall.

Kobach will face Democratic state Senator Laura Kelly, and independent candidate Greg Orman. The special election for the Ohio-12 seat is still undecided and may not be until later this month.

Here are the results from Tuesday night’s primaries:


For Governor: Democrat business executive Ned Lamont and Republican financial executive Bob Stefanowski.

US Senate: Incumbent Democratic Senator Chris Murphy and Republican small business owner Matthew Corey.

US House District 5: Democratic 2016 Teacher of the Year Jahana Hayes and Republican former Meriden mayor Manny Santos. The district is rated safe Democratic by Cook Political Report. Ms. Hayes will be the first black woman of either party to represent part of New England in Congress.


Governor: Democratic Representative Tim Walz (MN-1); Republican former state Rep. Jeff Johnson; GRP Party Chris Wright and Libertarian Josh Welter.

State Attorney General: Democratic Rep. Keith Ellison (MN-5); Republican former state Rep. Doug Wardlow; and Independent Party Noah Johnson.

Special Senate Election: Democratic Sen. Tina Smith; Republican State Sen. Karen Hously; Special Independent Party Jerry Trooien; and Special Independent Party Sarah Wellington.

US Senate: Incumbent Democratic Sen. Amy Klobuchar; Republican State Rep. Jim Newberger; Green Party Paula Overby; and Independent Dennis Schuller.

US House District 1: Democrat Dan Feehan and Republican Jim Hagedorn.

US House District 2: Democrat Angie Craig and Republican Incumbent Rep. Jason Lewis.

US House District 3: Democratic businessman Dean Phillips; and Republican incumbent Rep. Erik Paulson.

US House District 4: Democratic incumbent Rep. Betty McCollum; Republican Greg Ryan; and Independent Susan Pendergast Sindt

US House District 5: Democratic state legislator Ilhan Omar and Republican Jennifer Zielinski.

US House District 6: Democrat Ian Todd and Republican incumbent Rep. Tom Emmer.

US House District 7: Democratic incumbent Rep. Collin C. Peterson; and Republican David Hughes.

US House District 8: Democratic former state legislator Joe Radinovich; Republican district commissioner Pete Stauber; and Independent Ray Sandman.


Governor: Democratic business woman Christine Hallquist; Republican incumbent Gov. Phil Scott; Independent Cris Ericson and Independent Stephen Marx.

Lieutenant Governor: Democratic incumbent Lt. Gov. David Zuckerman; and Republican Don Turner.

US Senate: Independent incumbent Sen. Bernie Sanders. his Republican opponent is yet to be determined. Republican businessman businessman named H. Brooke Paige holds the lead.

Sanders, although not a registered Democrat, was allowed to run in the primary on the Democratic line. He then declines the Democratic nomination to assure that he has no Democratic challenger. He has publicly stated this as his purpose.

US House District At-Large: Democratic incumbent Rep. Peter Welch; and Republican businessman H. Brooke Paige.

This is very strange but the Vermont Republican party decide to run a businessman named H. Brooke Paige in nearly every office on the ballot below the governor’s race.

No other Republican filed to run for treasurer, secretary of state, attorney general, or state auditor, effectively handing those primaries to Paige.

Yes, very strange.


Governor: Democratic state superintendent Tony Evers; and Republican incumbent Gov. Scott Walker; Green Party Michael White; and Libertarian Phil Anderson.

Lieutenant Governor: Democrat Mandela Barnes; Republican incumbent Lt. Gov. Rebecca Kleefisch; Green Party Tiffany Anderson; and Libertarian Patrick Baird.

US Senate: Democratic incumbent Sen. Tammy Baldwin; and Republican state legislator Leah Vukmir

U.S. House District 1; Democratic union activist Randy Bryce; and Republican Bryan Steil.

U.S. House District 2: Democratic incumbent Rep. Mark Pocan. He has no opponent.

U.S. House District 3: Democratic incumbent Rep. Ron Kind; and Republican Steve Toft.

U.S. House District 4: Democratic incumbent Rep. Gwen Moore; and Republican Tim Rogers.

U.S. House District 5: Democrat Tom Palzewicz; and Republican incumbent Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner.

U.S. House District 6: Democrat Dan Kohl; and Republican incumbent Rep. Glenn Grothman.

U.S. House District 7: Democrat Margaret Engebretson; and Republican incumbent Rep. Sean P. Duffy.

U.S. House District 7: Democrat Beau Liegeois; and Republican incumbent Rep. Mike Gallagher